Why I Write- Anshar

Anshar

20-03-2011 19:16:46

I suppose a very simple answer to that question is that I enjoy the creation. I am not blessed with visually artistic skills and I am only a moderately capable musician. However, albeit with much practice, I can write. I can sit for hours on end writing if I have a good story going and I’m on a roll. Just as some can watch TV or play video games, I write.

I enjoy the creation process and seeing how my characters grow. I used to say that writing is perhaps the closest thing to God that a human can achieve. Today I would be far more inclined to say that is only partially true. I may have created my own little world with its own plotline and some unique characters, but I often find myself not entirely in control. Frequently, characters take on a life of their own and I find myself writing at their direction, rather than my own. It is a bit hard to explain, but it is an experience that I have had numerous times and have come to enjoy.

I have created a lot of stories and characters in my lifetime. To be honest, most of them have not made it very far. Characters in particular are rather fickle, but there are survivors. There is one character I have created that I both love and hate for who she is; if I had to deal with her in real life, I would undoubtedly be frustrated to no end. Then again, as I have told Dranik (a real life friend who has read some of this character’s stories), if my readers hate her, then I have done my job.