How to write for battles

Kraznor

08-03-2006 07:33:27

I have read the docs and tried training, but it doesnt seem to help, Im not the greatest fiction writer in the world, so How do i even do a reasonable effort? Any advice

Aghasett

08-03-2006 14:31:01

I'm no expert, being only CL:1, but there are a few things I find helpful, which don't require inherent writing skills, per se, just a little mental effort:

Before the battle:

-Familiarize yourself with your opponent's character sheet and review his past battles. Learn his strengths and weaknesses, fighting styles, tactics, etc., and prepare accordingly.

-Select weapons that make up for your character's weaknesses vis a vis your opponent.

-Pre-visualize the combat arena's terrain and think about how you can use it to your advantage.

During the battle:

-Refer to the Force Powers section of the ACC Compendium frequently, and use powers appropriately and often (without going overboard).

-Use the terrain. It's never completely defined in the Compendium, so you have the latitude to create elements of the terrain to suit your purposes, e.g., you're able to duck behind a column to avoid a blaster bolt.

-Give your opponent credit -- don't be afraid to get wounded. The element of realism is much more important than trying to win the battle at all costs. If your opponent is stronger than you are, acknowledge that fact within the action of the battle.

-Don't over-rely on dialogue. Battles are action narratives, so don't get into lengthy speeches or conversations unless it's really pertinent to the battle at hand.

-Attack attack attack. As long as it's within the rules and it matches your character's strengths and abilities according your character sheet, throw everything you've got at your opponent. Fight your heart out and fight to win. But don't ignore reality if you're clearly getting pummeled. It's the effort that counts in judging.

Dalthid

13-03-2006 07:55:48